PadmaShri D Prakash Rao Unwell, Admitted To Cuttack SCB
Kabul Khara arrested after an encounter with police in Jaypore
Several organisations jointly observe 8-hour Kendrapara bandh
Rebel MLAs can't be compelled to participate in trust vote, says SC
Ganeshi Lal inaugurates 21st edition of Commonwealth TT Championship
Jamatud Dawa's Hafiz Saeed arrested and sent to judicial custody

Subhash Chandra Garg Appointed As New Finance Secy

09 March 2019


New Delhi: Economic Affairs Secretary Subhash Chandra Garg, the senior-most bureaucrat in the Finance Ministry, has been named Finance Secretary.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved designating Subhash Chandra Garg as the Finance Secretary. Former Finance Secretary Ajay Narayan Jha superannuated on February 28.

A Personnel Ministry order also said as much.

Garg (58), a 1983 batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre, has been working as the Secretary in Department of Economic Affairs since June 2017.

As per convention, the senior-most among the five secretaries in the Finance Ministry is designated as the Finance Secretary. In the current top bureaucratic set-up, Ajay Bhushan Pandey is the Revenue Secretary, Rajiv Kumar is Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Atanu Chakraborty is Secretary in Department of Investment and Public Asset Management (DIPAM) and Girish Chandra Murmu is the Expenditure Secretary.

Pandey and Kumar are 1984 batch IAS officers respectively. Chakraborty and Murmu are 1985 batch IAS officers.