28 Pairs Of Rajdhani, Duranto, Shatabdi Trains Cancelled From May 9

Bhubaneswar:  Amid the surge in the cases of Covid across the country, the Indian Railways on Thursday cancelled 28 pairs of Rajdhani, Duranto, Shatabdi and Vande Bharat Express trains until further orders.

According to Railway Ministry officials, the railways has decided to cancel the Shatabdi, Rajdhani, Duranto, Vande Bharat, Jan Shatabdi Express trains from May 9 until further orders.

The official said that the decision has been taken in the view of surge in the Covid cases and poor occupancy in the trains. On Thursday, India recorded over 4.12 lakh cases of Covid and almost 4,000 deaths in last 24 hours.

On the other hand, the East Coast Railway has decided to temporarily cancel four special trains for poor patronisation and to check the spread of Covid-19. These are:

08445/08446 Bhuubaneswar-Jagdalpur-Bhubaneswar Special from Bhubaneswar from 8th to 22nd May and from Jagadalpur from 9th to 23rd May, 2021 will remain cancelled.

08516/08515 Visakhapatnam-Kirandul-Visakhapatnam Special from Visakhapatnam from 7th to 21st May and from Kirandul from 8th to 22nd May, 2021 will remain cancelled.

02708/02707 Tirupati-Viakhaptnam-Tirupati Special from Tirupaati from 7th to 30th May and from Visakhapatnam from 8th to 31st May, 2021 will remain cancelled.

02784/02783 Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam-Secunderabad Special from Secunderabad from 8th to 29th May and from Visakhapatnam from 9th to 30th May, 2021 will remain cancelled.

“11 Special trains running on weekends will remain cancelled from May 8 to 16,” the ECoR added. These are:

08456/08455 Bhubaneswar-Kendujhargarh-Bhubaneswar Special,
08428/08427 Puri-Angul-Puri Special,
08412/08411 Bhubaneswar-Bhadrak-Bhubaneswar Special,
08432/08431 Puri-Cuttack-Puri Special,
08438/08437 Cuttack-Bhadrak-Cuttack Special,
08461/08462 Cuttack-Paradeep-Cuttack Special,
08454/08453 Cuttack-Bhadrak-Cuttack Special,
08528/08527 Visakhapatnam-Raipur-Visakhapatnam Special,
08433/08434 Bhubaneswar-Palasa-Bhubaneswar Special,
08301/08302 Rayagada-Sambalpur-Rayagada Special from both the directions on 8th, 9th, 15th & 16th May, 2021 (Saturday & Sundays) will remain cancelled.

“Similarly, 02892/02891 Bhubaneswar-Bangiripoi-Bhubaneswar Special from Bhubaneswar on 8th, 9th, 15th & 16th May, 2021 and from Bangiriposi on 9th, 10th, 11th & 17th May, 2021 will remain cancelled,” ECoR stated.

(with inputs from IANS)