926 Police Personnel Awarded Medals On I-Day

New Delhi:  Two Indian Police Service (IPS) officers currently on central deputation in the National Investigation Agency (NIA) have been awarded Police Medal For Gallantry, while five anti-terror probe agency officers have been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished and Meritorious Services.

The recipents are part of the 926 police personnel who have been awarded the medals on Independence Day. An NIA Spokesperson said that Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Vidhi Kumar Birdi, and Superintendent of Police Tejinder Singh have been awarded Police Medal for Gallantry in recognition of their services.

Both the IPS officers belong to the Jammu and Kashmir cadre. Birdi is an IPS officer of 2003 batch and has served in various capacities in J&K as DIG North Kashmir Range, Baramulla and DIG Central Range, Srinagar.

The Spokesperson said that Birdi has carried out many counter-insurgency operations and handled several law and order situations in the erstwhile state of J&K while Singh, a 2008 batch IPS officer has served as SP Pulwama, SP Budgam and SSP Jammu and has led several counter-terror operations in J&K.

The spokesperson said that one NIA officer has been awarded with the President’s Police medal for Distinguished Services while four officers have been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Services on the occasion of Independence Day.

The spokesperson said that DSP Ratan Nath, posted in NIA Guwahati branch has been awarded President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services. Nath joined NIA in 2013 and has performed his work with dedication and sincerity in the challenging situations, particularly in the north eastern states.

Among Meritorious Services medal recipients, Kanchan Mitra, DSP at Kolkata Branch, who investigated many complex cases like Burdwan Blast Case, ambush on Indian Army in Chandel district of Manipur, terror funding cases of Nagaland and several FICN case with international links has been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Meritorious Services.

Besides Mitra, Lala A.N., Assistant Sub-Inspector, Kochi Branch, Chandra Kant Chaturvedi, Assistant Sub-Inspector, Lucknow Branch Office and Santosh Meitei, Head Constable, Guwahati branch have also been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Services for their dedication and commitment towards service.


Related Articles

Back to top button