AAP’s Broom Sweeps Delhi, BJP & Congress Decimated

Bhubaneswar: Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party has scaled a major victory decimating Congress and the BJP in Delhi. AAP won a convincing 62 of of Delhi’s 70 seats, leaving the BJP with just eight seats. The Congress party, which ruled Delhi for 15 years before being voted out in 2013, failed to open its account.

Attributing his victory to the people of Delhi, Kejriwal said, “This is a win for Mother India.” Prominent faces Manish Sisodia, Raghav Chadha, Atishi, Gopal Rai and Arvind Kejriwal emerged victorious from their respective constituencies.

With AAP retaining power, it is the third straight electoral setback for the BJP after losing Jharkhand and Maharashtra elections last year.

The BJP’s campaign saw heavyweights such as Home Minister Amit Shah, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar take to Delhi streets to woo voters but that appears to have had little impact on the outcome.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button