Ex-Lok Sabha Speaker P.A. Sangma To Get Padma Award Posthumously

25 January 2017


New Delhi: Former Lok Sabha Speaker P.A. Sangma has been selected to receive India's second-highest civilian honour Padma Vibhushan award for this year posthumously.

Apart from late Sangma, senior political leaders Sharad Pawar and Murli Manohar Joshi will also be conferred with the prestigious award.

President Pranab Mukherjee has named 89 people for the country's highest civilian awards, including seven Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awards, to mark India's 68th Republic Day.

The awardees included 19 women and five persons NRIs/PIOs (Persons of Indian Origin) while six of the awards have been made posthumously.

Cricket captain Virat Kohli, hockey captain P.R. Sreejesh, 2016 Olympic medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, and para-athletes Deepa Malik and Mariyappan Thangavelu were also on Wednesday named for the prestigious Padma Shri, the country's fourth highest civilian award.

Apart from them, gymnast sensation Dipa Karmakar, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricketer Shekhar Naik also figure in the last of awardees.

Veteran classical and playback singer K.J. Yesudas has also been named for the Padma Vibhushan while Grammy-winning Hindustani classical music instrumentalist Vishwa Mohan Bhatt has been named for the Padma Bhushan.

Popular singers Kailash Kher and Anuradha Paudwal are among this year's Padma Shri awardees.