JMM Wins Both Seats In Jharkhand Assembly Bypolls

**Ranchi: ** The main opposition Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) on Thursday won the bypolls to both the Gomia and Silli Assembly constituencies, a poll official said.

In Silli, JMM candidate Seema Mahto defeated ruling ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) President Sudesh Mahto by 13,508 votes.

She received 77,121 votes while Mahto secured 63,613 votes.

In Gomia, which the ruling alliance partners BJP and AJSU contested separately, JMM candidate Babita Devi won by 1,800 votes, defeated AJSU candidate Lambodar Mahto, while BJP’s Madavlal Singh came third.

The polling for the two seats took place on May 28.

Silli and Gomia had witnessed 75 and 62 per cent polling respectively.



Related Articles

Back to top button