Sushmita, Gogoi, Pala In Congress Third Lok Sabha List

**New Delhi:** The Congress on Friday released its third list of party candidates fielding its sitting MPs Sushmita Dev from Silchar, Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor and Vincent H Pala from Shillong.

The third list of candidates has 18 names including five from Assam, two from Meghalaya, one from Nagaland, one from Sikkim, eight from Telangana and one from Uttar Pradesh.

The party has fielded Tanuj Punia, son of its leader P.L. Punia from Barabanki in Uttar Pradesh.

While Pala has been fielded from Shillong in Meghalaya, former Chief Minister Mukul M. Sangma has been fielded from Tura, the other Lok Sabha seat in the state.

In Assam, the party has fielded Swarup Das from Karimganj, former MP Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh, Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat, part from Sushmita Dev and Gaurav Gogoi. Sushmita Dev is the chief of Mahila Congress.

The party has fielded K.L. Chishi from Nagaland and Bharat Basnett from Sikkim.

It announced candidates for eight out of 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana.

Party’s state unit Working Presidents Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar will contest from Malkajgiri and Karimnagar constituencies respectively. Both were defeated in Assembly elections held in December.

Sitting MP Konda Visweswar Reddy, who had defected to Congress from the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on the eve of Assembly polls, will seek re-election from Chevella.

The other candidates are Balram Naik (Mahabubabad), Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad), A. Chandrashekhar (Peddapalli), Gali Anil Kumar (Medak) and Madan Mohan (Zaheerabad).

The candidates for remaining seats are likely to be announced on Saturday.

The first phase of Lok Sabha elections will take place on April 11.