VCK, DMK Finalise Seat Sharing For LS Polls

**Chennai:** The DMK on Monday concluded electoral pacts with the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the VCK for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

As per the agreement inked between the three parties, the CPI and the VCK get two seats each.

Speaking to the media, VCK leader Thirumavalavan said the two constituencies will be decided later.

According to Thirumavalavan, the DMK-led alliance will win all the 40 Lok Sabha seats — 39 in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry seat.

He said the party would decide on whether to contest under its own symbol or under the DMK’s Rising Sun symbol.

On his part, CPI’s Tamil Nadu State Secretary R. Mutharasan said after the smooth first round talks earlier, the agreement was reached in the second round.

He said the party will contest under its own symbol.

Mutharasan said the CPI will extend support to the DMK in the bypolls that would be held for the 21 Assembly constituencies lying vacant in Tamil Nadu.

The DMK has signed electoral alliance pacts with the Congress (nine seats in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry seat), CPI, VCK (two seats each), IUML and KDMK (one seat each).

The DMK is also holding talks with the MDMK, CPI-M and others like the DMDK.

The DMDK, founded by A. Vijayakant, has called a meeting of its party senior officials on Tuesday probably to decide on whom to align with.