‘Rocket Man’ Sivan To Attend Convocation Ceremony Of IIT-Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: Dr K Sivan, Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), will be gracing the 8th Annual Convocation Ceremony to be held on Friday at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar. A total of 356 students will pass across various disciplines.

Chief Guest of the event Dr Sivan will address the occasion along with Prof RV Raja Kumar, Director and Chairman, Board of Governors of IIT-Bhubaneswar. At the event, 32 PhD, 105 MTech, 67 MSc, and 152 BTech students will be conferred degrees at the 11-year old institute.

As per IIT-Bhubaneswar’s press note, students with exemplary performances will be awarded in the convocation ceremony. The President of India Gold Medal will be awarded to Shroban Mohapatra for best academic performance among the entire batch of BTech pass-outs. Rahul Das and Anubhav Nath will be awarded with Director’s Gold Medal for best academic performance amongst the entire batch of MSc and MTech respectively. Institute Silver Medals will also be given to best performing pass-outs across respective schools. The press note added that it was a moment of pride for the Institute, its students, faculties, and parents at the presence of a legend like Dr K Sivan.

Known as ISRO’s ‘Rocket Man’, Dr Sivan was involved in the development of cryogenic engine, PSLV, GSLV and RLV programmes. He had also played a key role in the launching of 104 satellites at one go which was a world record in itself.


Related Articles

Back to top button