10 Candidates Remain In Fray For Pipili Bypoll

Bhubaneswar: A total of 10 candidates remained in the fray for the bypoll to the Pipili Assembly constituency with two candidates withdrawing their candidature on the last date for withdrawal of candidature today.

A press note issued by Chief Electoral Officer Sushil Kumar Lohani today said that a total of ten candidates-01 from Indian National Congress (INC), 01 from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 01 from Biju Janata Dal (BJD), 04 from unrecognized parties, and 03 as Independent candidates will be contesting the Pipili bypoll scheduled to be held on April 17 (Saturday).

As on the last date of filing of nominations i.e on March 30, a total of 15 candidates had filed their nominations-one each from BJP, BJD, and INC, 04 unrecognized parties, and 08 Independents, the press note stated.

During scrutiny on March 31, nominations of three candidates were rejected, the press note added.


Pradip Kumar Sahoo, ADM, Puri