1,610 Schools Join ‘Mo School’ Campaign

Bhubaneswar: As many as 1,610 schools in 25 districts of the State have joined in the ‘Mo School’ campaign. This was revealed at the 18th executive council meeting of the ‘Mo School’ management organisation chaired by Principal Secretary School & Mass Education department Satyabrata Sahoo through virtual mode today.

While alumni of 1610 schools of 25 districts have contributed Rs 2,46,90,020 for development of these schools, the State government has sanctioned double the amount Rs 4,93,80,040, said an official press release issued here today.

Both the contribution of the alumni and the sanctioned grant of the State government totalling Rs 7,40,70,060 will be spent for development of the concerned schools. Several schools in the districts of Gajapati, Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Bargarh etc, by taking part in this campaign have achieved remarkable success in mobilising grants.

It is worth mentioning that Gajapati district has mobilised the highest amount of over Rs 56 lakh. It was decided at the meeting to undertake Dalit programme alongside ‘Mo School’ campaign with Tata Trust in the districts of Kalahandi, Kandhamal and Rayagada.

Sahoo directed officials to undertake different programmes for starting libraries and skill enhancement of teachers. The meeting discussed for further accelerating ‘Mo School’ campaign to connect with 5 lakh students by March 2021.

Director Secondary Education, Director Primary Education, Director State Council for Education Research and Training (SCERT), Officer In-charge of ‘Mo School’ campaign and CEO took part in the deliberations.