18th Asian Games: Odia Boys Lakra, Rohidas Selected For National Hockey Squad

**Bhubaneswar**: Taking Odisha’s sporting glory to a new height, defenders Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas have been selected in the national men’s hockey squad for the 18th Asian Games to be held from August 18 onwards.

Both the boys hail from Sundargarh and have represented India at an international level before.

28-year-old Birendra Lakra was part of the team that won Junior World Cup at Singapore in 2009. Lakra along with his team mates also represented India in Men’s Hockey during the 2012 London Olympics. He was also a part of the Indian team in the Hockey World League 2014.

25-year-old Amit Rohidas was selected in the national junior team in 2009. Rohidas was selected in the senior squad for the 2013 Asia Cup in Ipoh where the Indian team won the silver medal.

Goalkeeper P.R. Sreejesh will lead the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team at the 18th Asian Games in Indonesia.

Speaking about the team composition, Chief Coach Harendra Singh said, “We have a great mix of players who have shown their abilities in the recent tournaments.”

India Squad:

Goalkeepers- 1. PR Sreejesh (Captain) 2. Krishan B Pathak

Defenders- 3. Harmanpreet Singh 4. Varun Kumar 5. Birendra Lakra 6. Surender Kumar 7. Rupinder Pal Singh 8. Amit Rohidas

Midfielders- 9. Manpreet Singh 10. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-Captain) 11. Simranjeet Singh 12. Sardar Singh 13. Vivek Sagar Prasad

Forwards – 14. S V Sunil 15. Mandeep Singh 16. Akashdeep Singh 17. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 18. Dilpreet Singh


Related Articles

Back to top button