2 Fake Universities In Odisha: UGC

Bhubaneswar: University Grants Commission (UGC) released the list of 23 fake Universities in India on Tuesday among which two belong to Odisha. 

They are:

Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Anupooma Bhawan, Plot No. 242, Pani Tanki Road, Shaktinagar, Rourkela-769014

North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, University Road Baripada, Distt. Mayurbhanj, Odisha-757003

Eight of these fake universities are in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Delhi, one each in Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Puducherry.

Students have been advised by UGC to look at these self-styled, unrecognized institutions and become aware of their locations. The UGC has derecognized these universities for not conforming to the provisions of UGC Act, 1956.

Also, Section 23 of UGC Act prohibits the use of word ‘University’ by any unrecognized institution or any Fake University.