2 Odia Writers To Be Conferred With Prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award

Bhubaneswar:  The Sahitya Akademi on Friday announced winners of Bal Sahitya Puraskar and Yuva Puraskar. In all, 45 individuals will be awarded for their work in the field of literature. Among them, are two Odias.

Sisira Behera will be conferred with the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar in Literary Criticism category for his book Bimugdha Uccharana and Birendra Kumar Samantray will be bestowed with Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar for Total Contribution.

 While the Bal Puraskar will be conferred upon the winners on the Children’s Day, the day for the Yuva Puraskar is yet to be decided.

“For the Bal Sahitya Puraskar, the Awards relate to books first published during the five years immediately preceding the year of Award (between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2017) the statement by the Akademi read. 

 “However, during the initial 10 years (from 2010 to 2019), the award may also be given to an author based on his/her total contribution to Children Literature,” Akademi added in the statement.

 The winners of both the awards will receive a casket containing an engraved copper plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000. 

 (With IANS Inputs) 


Related Articles

Back to top button