261 Candidates File Nominations In Odisha For 2nd Phase Of Assembly Elections

**Bhubaneswar:** Total 299 candidates filed nominations for second phase of Assembly elections in Odisha out of which the applications of 38 candidates were rejected. Similarly, 45 candidates filed nominations for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections out of which eight nominations were cancelled.

This implies that in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Odisha, for five seats, total 37 candidates will be contesting. Similarly, for 35 assembly constituencies total 261 candidates will contest the elections in the second phase of 2019 polls, Chief Electoral Officer, Surendra Kumar informed on Wednesday.

For peaceful conduct of polls, total 5,255 non-bailable warrants have been executed and 27,818 persons have been taken to preventive custody under Section 107 and 116 of the IPC. The State police have taken custody of 3,830 licensed firearms while 110 illegal firearms have been seized so far.

The authorities have raided and shut five illegal firearm manufacturing units and seized 240 kilograms of explosives. The flying squads have confiscated cash of Rs 21.75 lakh while the Excise sleuths have seized 62,532 litres of alcohol worth Rs 1.65 crore.