3 BJP MLAs Suspended Over Shoe Hurling Incident In Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro today suspended three Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs for the remaining days of the ongoing budget session of the Odisha Assembly.

Patro suspended the Bishnu Charan Sethi, Mohan Majhi, and Jaynarayan Mishra of the BJP  after examining the video footage of the shoe hurling incident in the State Assembly earlier in the day.

The State Assembly today witnessed a new low with hurling of shoes, microphones, and other items by the Opposition at the Speaker’s podium amid protests by the BJP over the alleged arbitrary passage of Bills.

Following the suspension of Sethi, Majhi, and Mishra all BJP members including the Leader of the Opposition Pradipta Naik have sat on a dharna under the statue of Mahatma Gandhi inside the Assembly premises.