3 More Arrested For Attack On Journalists In Jajpur

Jajpur: Police have arrested three more persons in connection with the attack on journalists during panchayat polls at Binjharpur in Jajpur district.

The accused have been identified as Prasant Mallick, Pradip Mallick, and Sarat Mallick of Bamdebpur village.

Reports said, the accused who have been booked under various sections of IPC were forwarded to court following their arrest by Binjharpur police.

A total of 15 persons including the aforementioned three have been arrested by Binjharpur police in connection with the attack on journalists, reports added.

The accused including others had allegedly attacked three journalists identified as Debashis Sahoo, Gulshan Ali Nawaz, and Bijay Sahoo while they were covering an alleged incident of booth rigging while the third phase of three-tier rural polls was underway in Binjharpur area of Jajpur district.

Sahoo, Nawaz, and Sahoo had sustained severe injuries in the attack and were admitted to the district headquarters hospital in Jajpur.