41% Polling In Odisha Till 1 PM, No Time Extension For EVM Glitches, Says Odisha CEO

Bhubaneswar: Nearly 41 per cent of the 60.03 lakh voters cast their ballots in the first six hours (i.e till 1 pm) of polling on Thursday for the four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly seats in Odisha in the first phase, an election officer said.

Voting began at 7 a.m. and will end at 6 p.m. Chief Election Officer Surendra Kumar said, “In Maoist-affected areas, voting will continue only till 4 pm.”

“We did receive complaints of technical glitches in EVMs and the voting started in half-an-hour delay at several booths after necessary repairs. However, voting time will not be extended in these places. But, voters who queue up within the time limit will be allowed to cast their votes,” he added.

43% voter turnout in Berhampur Lok Sabha segment, 45% in Nabarangpur, 39% in Kalahandi and 42% Koraput informed the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

Braving the scorching sun, people were seen making a beeline outside the polling booths to cast their rights.

In the first phase, a total of 60,03,707 voters comprising 29,72,925 male voters, 30,30,222 female voters and 560 transgenders are eligible to cast their votes in 7,233 booths.

Elections were underway for four parliamentary constituencies Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput and 28 Assembly constituencies, which fall under the Lok Sabha seats.

A total of 2,375 booths have been identified as critical polling stations. Security has been beefed up with the deployment of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) at 777 booths.