67th National Railways Award Function Held At Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: The 67th National Railways Award Function-2022 was held at the Railway Auditorium here today evening.

Union Minister of Railways, Communications & Electronics and Information Technology Ashwini Vaishnaw felicitated outstanding Railway Employees and Zonal Railways, Production Units and PSUs for their dedication in service & efficiency.

Speaking on the occasion, Vaishnaw stressed on the transformation of Indian Railways for a better future which would help in the growth of the Indian economy to new heights. He also said that transformation of Railways could change the scenario of the Indian Economy and the inherent talent among the railwaymen is to be carved out.

Emphasizing the vision to bring fundamental changes in Indian Railways, he said that rapid absorption of technology needs to be upgraded in terms of rolling stock, construction works, safety and cyber security.

On investment, Vaishnaw said that more investment is needed for the development of Railways. The government is making efforts to increase the investment in Railways since 2014 and this year it has reached Rs 1.37 lakh crore. He also informed that with a view to prioritising projects under the PM Gati Shakti Scheme, the Ministry of Railways has set up a new directorate under the Railway Board.

Railway Minister has also said that aiming for a better future needs targeted growth which indeed keeps the growth trajectory in a positive phase.

Earlier, VK Tripathi, Chairman & CEO of Railway Board in his welcome address spoke about the development of Indian Railways in recent days with transformation.

Altogether, 156 Railway Employees from various Zonal Railways all over the country received outstanding certificates and awards from the Railway Minister.

Apart from this, 21 Shields were also given to various Railways, Production Units & Railway PSUs for their outstanding performance and efficiencies.

Ten Trackmen that include 8 in Safety Category and 2 in Operations, Security & Safety Category have been awarded. Twenty eight Railway employees were awarded for meritorious acts even in disregard to personal safety leading to the protection of life and property on Railways.

Forty two Railwaymen were awarded for exemplary work done to improve operations, Security & Safety, Better maintenance and utilisation of assets, 28 employees were awarded for New Innovations, procedures leading to economies in expenditure, improvement of productivity, etc.; 11 employees were awarded for the increase in earnings and to ticketless travel, theft, etc., 12 for completion of projects in record time; 01 for outstanding performance in the field of Sports; 33 Railwaymen awarded for outstanding performance in other fields.

This was one of the major functions of Indian Railways where a complete set up of Railway Ministry were present at Bhubaneswar.

East Coast Railway organised this function for the second time at Bhubaneswar.

Members of Railway Board Mohit Sinha, Member (Finance); O P Singh, Member (Infrastructure), D C Sharma, Member (Traction & Rolling Stock); S K Mohanty, Member (Operations & Business Development) and R N Singh, Secretary, Railway Board; General Managers of all Zonal Railways of the country, Production Units of Railways and PSUs of Railways were present on this occasion along with high-level officials like Executive Directors and much more.