After Defeats Of MP Candidates In Western Odisha, BJD Is Trying To Dissect Cause

Bhubaneswar: Despite having bagged 112 Assembly seats out of 146 polled and 12 Lok Sabha seats out of the 21 polled, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today began its dissection into the cause behind the defeat of other Lok Sabha seats, especially in western Odisha region, as they have been wrested by the BJP after the saffron party’s debacle in the State between 2009 and 2014.

BJD had won 20 MP seats out of 21 in 2014 general elections despite the Modi magic.  

This time, BJP has also won 23 Assembly seats and all poised to be the main opposition party instead of the traditional Congress.  

Even though most of the BJD MLA candidates from the western Odisha constituencies have got elected in this year’s fray, the party MP candidates have bitten dust after a keen contest except Sundargarh Lok Sabha seat.

In her introspective reactions, Sundargarh BJD MP candidate Sunita Biswal said, “Perhaps the fault is with us. We may not have been successful in approaching the people properly. The way the people of Odisha have supported hon’ble Chief Minister, it implies that the fault is somewhere in our candidates.”

“As our result (of MP seats) has been bad, there must be a review on it.”

On her individual defeat, she stated, “I didn’t get sufficient time to be among the people. Sundargarh is perchance the biggest district in Odisha. Hence, it came as a hurdle to cover all the areas. This may also be a reason.”

After defeating former BJP MLA, Brajarajnagar MLA-elect Kishore Chandra Mohanty said, “There ought to a post mortem and also to be seen how the party organization in our seat (Bargarh Parliament Constituency) could be further strengthened. The reason must be found out why our parliament candidates couldn’t win in comparison to the victory registered by our party MLAs.”

Kalahandi Parliament Constituency’s Junagarh BJD MLA-elect Dibyashankar Mishra in his media reactions said, “People’s mandate is humbly accepted by our BJD workers. We’ll try to rectify whatever mistakes and faults committed by us. Our party will certainly dissect into the lapses.”

“It’s an extremely happy matter that the hon’ble Chief Minister has been elected for the record fifth consecutive term which is historic,” he beamed.   

Senior BJD leader and former Kantabanji MLA Ayub Khan alleged, “I’m least bothered that I wasn’t made the candidate this time, but our MP candidate had assured many prospective MLA candidates for the party ticket for which they were all peeved over it.”  

BJD spokesperson Sasmit Patra said, “Definitely there will be review on the results of places where we have fared well and the places where our performance is not so satisfactory. Hon’ble Chief Minister is our party chief. He has kept his statement during the legislature party meeting and voiced his opinion. Certainly, there will be future course of action after detailed analysis.”

Notably, BJD has lost its Lok Sabha bastions of Sambalpur, Bargarh, Bolangir and Kalahandi to BJP in western Odisha while Sundargarh has been retained by BJP but with a very big margin this time unlike 2014.


Related Articles

Back to top button