As Bhubaneswar Turns 71, Know The Brief History Of The City

Bhubaneswar: India’s No.1 smart city Bhubaneswar has turned 71 years old today. As the denizens of the capital city rejoice in the several amenities that make this city a growing hub, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tweeted, “I convey my good wishes and greetings to the people of Bhubaneswar on the city’s foundation day. This culturally rich city of temples has enhanced Odisha’s pride and glory for ages.”

Here is brief history of the city:

  1. The area was ruled for years by dynasties like Maurya (King Ashoka), Mahameghavahana, Satavahanas, Guptas, Marathas, Shailodbhavas, Keshari, Eastern Gangas and Mughals. In 1803, the area came under British colonial rule.
  2. The area was a part of Bengal Presidency until 1912, Bihar and Orissa Province from 1912-1936 and Orissa Province from 1936-1947.
  3. Capital of British-ruled Orissa Province was Cuttack but due to floods and space constraints, a proposal to move the capital was introduced on 30 September 1946.
  4. After independence, the foundation of the new capital was laid by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru on 13 April 1948.
  5. The name of new capital came from “Tribhubaneswara” (literally “Lord of the Earth”), the deity of the Lingaraja temple.
  6. The Legislative Assembly of Orissa was shifted from Cuttack to Bhubaneswar in 1949.
  7. Designed by German architect Otto Königsberger, Bhubaneswar was built as a modern city with wide roads, gardens and parks.
  8. The city grew rapidly over the next decades. According to the census in 1951, the city’s population was just 16,512. By 1991, the population had increased to 411,542. 
  9. From 1952 to 1979, Bhubaneswar was a Notified Area Council.
  10. On 14 August 1994, the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation was established.