Aska MP Pramila Bisoyi Awarded 'Earth Heroes Award'

07 November 2019


Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP from Aska, Pramila Bisoyi has been awarded the RBS Earth Heroes Award (REHA) in the lifetime achievement category for making a significant mark in the space of “Climate Change” – the theme for the 2019 awards.

Her exceptional contribution and efforts for protection and conservation of peacocks at Pakidi hills near her non-descript village Chermeria under Aska block in Ganjam district was recognised in the form of the ‘Lifetime Achievement award’, part of the RBS Earth Heroes award, at a ceremony hosted in New Delhi on Tuesday.

Bisoyi, a school dropout, who has studied up to class III, for the last 18 years has been organising local women to protect peacocks of the Pakidi hills from poachers and had taken up several programmes for the national bird's conservation and breeding.

Bisoyi's efforts have gone a long way in preserving the ecological balance in the area.

She was earlier awarded 'Prakruti Bandhu' and 'Prakruti Mitra' awards by the State Forest and Environment department.

The awards instituted by Royal Bank of Scotland in 2011 is an attempt to provide a national platform to those individuals and institutions that have espoused and undertaken actions to protect our endangered forest, wetlands, and other natural ecosystems.

The awards are an attempt to recognise the grit and determination of individuals and institutions who went beyond their call of duty with an aim to preserve and protect our environment.

The seven award winners this year ranging from forest guards to Members of Parliament and researchers to civil societies, and individuals from various walks of life were felicitated in the presence of Kishan Reddy, Union Minister of State for Home Affairs; Babul Supriyo, Union Minister of State for Environment, Forests and Climate Change; Prof Ramesh Chand, Member NITI Aayog; Siddhanta Das, Director General of Forests and Special Secretary to the Government, senior officials, awards jury, and guests, for their indomitable commitment to save the planet’s ecological assets.

The award winners described as ‘unsung heroes’ Union Minister of State for Environment, Forests and Climate Change Babul Supriyo were selected by an independent jury comprising of eminent personalities from conservation science and management, media, and the government.

The other REHA 2019 winners, who have won the awards are Bholu Abrar Khan of Bharatpur and Dimbeshwar Das of Assam in the 'Green Warrior' category, Ela Foundation of Pune in the 'Earth Guardian' category, Aishwarya Maheshwari of Uttar Pradesh and S Sathish of Tamil Nadu in 'Save the Species' category, and Jalal Ud Din Baba of Kashmir in the 'Inspire' category.