Balasore Sadar & Tirtol Assembly By-Poll On Nov 3

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced the date for conducting by-poll to the two vacant assembly seats of Balasore Sadar and Tirtol in Odisha.

The date of by-poll in these two assembly seats will be held on November 3 while counting will be on November 11.

The seats are lying vacant following the untimely demise of both the legislators amid the Covid-19 nationwide lockdown.

Ex-MLA of Balasore Sadar was Madanmohan Dutta (BJP). He was elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly from Balasore constituency in the 2019 election. Dutta died of cardiac arrest on June 17 this year.

Similarly, Ex-MLA of Tirtol Bishnu Das (BJD) died of prolonged illness on July 7 this year. He was a six-time MLA and was elected to Odisha Assembly five times from Jagatsinghpur seat and last time from Tirtol.