Balasore & Tirtol All Set For By-Election Results

Bhubaneswar: The counting of votes will begin at 8 AM today. The by-elections were held on November 3 for the Assembly constituencies of Balasore Sadar and Tirtol. The fate of a total of 14 candidates is in the fray.

The BJP has fielded Manas Kumar Dutta, the son of Madan Mohan Dutta, in the Balasore seat, while Swarup Das is the ruling BJD candidate and the Congress put up Mamata Kundu as its nominee for the seat.

The BJD has fielded Bijay Shankar Das, the son of Bishnu Charan Das, in the Tirtol seat, while the Congress has nominated Himansu Bhushan Mallick and Rajkishore Behera is the BJP candidate for the constituency.

The by-elections were necessitated following the deaths of the BJP’s Balasore MLA Madan Mohan Dutta and the BJD’s Tirtol legislator Bishnu Charan Das.

Three-layer security arrangements have been made, Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani had informed yesterday. The outer layer will be manned by the local police while the middle layer will be manned by the State Armed Police personnel and the innermost layer by the Central Paramilitary Force. Lohani also said that the counting will be conducted amid strict adherence to mandated COVID-19 regulations.

Also Read: Balasore & Tirtol By-Poll Counting From 8 AM Tomorrow; Result After Each Round: Odisha CEO