Bhuban Bus Electrocution: 2 CESU Officials Suspended

**Bhubaneswar:** In the aftermath of the passenger bus electrocution and deaths of six passengers at Bhuban in Dhenkanal district recently, the State Energy Department on Tuesday suspended two of its officials on charges of dereliction of duty.

The action has been taken against Kamakshyanagar division (CESU) sub-divisional officer (SDO) Ullas Chandra Nath and Bhuban section junior engineer (JE) Hrushikesh Das.
The action was taken on the basis of an enquiry report given to the Government by the Energy Department engineer-in-chief.

On the other hand, Odisha State Electricity Corporation Engineers’ Association (OSECEA) has on the day demanded immediate revocation of the suspension orders failing of which it has threatened non-cooperation movement from October 1.

The tragic incident took place when the ill-fated bus came in contact with a low-lying high tension 11 KV live wire resulting in deaths of six and critically injuring several other passengers in it.

Meanwhile, the Odisha Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has sought a report from the Energy Department about steps taken after the incident.

OHRC Acting Chairman Justice Bira Kishore Mishra has asked the Energy Department Secretary Rajesh Verma and CMD of Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL) Hemant Sharma to furnish an action taken report within four weeks.

Notably on the day of the mishap, the Energy Department had asked the OPTCL to pay Rs 5 lakh compensation to the next of kin of each of the deceased.

Besides, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had also announced Rs 2 lakh ex-gratia for each bereft family.