Bijepur All Ready For The By-Poll Results

Bhubaneswar: The counting of votes for Bijepur by-elections has begun at 8 am.

Out of 2.32 Lakh voters, polling day saw a turnout of 79 per cent by the end of the day on October 21.

The counting of votes will be done in 21 rounds with about 120 poll officials being deployed for the counting at 14 tables and a round table. The counting is being done with three-tier security arrangements in place with five CCTV cameras. 

The fate of ruling Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Rita Sahu, Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Sanat Gartia and the Congress party’s Dillip Kumar Panda will be decided today.

The by-election was necessitated after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who had contested and won two segments in the 2019 Assembly polls, vacated Bijepur and retained Hinjili in Ganjam district.


Related Articles

Back to top button