Bijepur By Poll: 5 Left In Fray, Parties Warm Up For Campaigning

Bhubaneswar: With five candidates remaining in the fray for the Bijepur bye-election as the last date for withdrawal of candidature ended today, three main political parties-BJD, BJP and Congress are warming up for the D-day, October 21-the date of polling.

While BJD has claimed that its functionaries and cadres have been active in the Bijepur constituency for the last three months, the Congress organized a massive party workers’ conference at Blockpada cricket grounds today and the BJP has claimed that it is always fully prepared for the polls.

“The Biju Janata Dal workers have been fully active for the last three months. We have already held several small and large meetings. Presently, because of Durga Puja campaigning is on low key and will gather full steam after the Pujas,” said a confident Susanta Singh, a young BJD leader and Minister hailing from western Odisha, in which Bijepur falls.

Singh claimed that his party was much ahead in campaigning as compared to other political parties.

“Polling will end on 21st and counting of votes will take place on 24th……I don’t think any other party stands a chance against the BJD in this election. You can get the feel if you ever visit ground zero,” he added.

The BJD Minister said that party workers of the area have demanded that Naveen Patnaik should hold a road show so that they can have a closer interact with the Chief Minister.

We have communicated their feelings   to our party chief, he added.

The Congress, which is in moribund state, has claimed that it will win the polls this time.

“100% Congress party will win in this poll. The Congress had also won from this seat earlier. Keeping in view the activities of these parties(meaning BJD and BJP) our chances are brighter,” said Jitendra Singh, Congress party’s Odisha in-charge speaking to reporters after the party workers meet at Blockpada.

Singh said that they would go to the public and bust the lies of these parties.

The Odisha in-charge stated that they would go to the people with their track record-that of development of India and Odisha during their rule.

“BJP has already finalized its strategy and planning. Dharmendra Pradhan, Pratap Sarangi and most probably Smriti Irani will also have a programme there. Other central leaders will be also coming.Clear picture will emerge within 2-3 days,” pointed out Prithviraj Harichandan, BJP leader Odisha.

As many as 2,32,005 voters in Bijepur comprising 1,19,916 males, 1,12,074 females and 15 third gender voters are eligible to cast their votes at a total of 285 polling booths. The bye-election is all set to witness a triangular contest.



Susanta Singh, BJD MLA

Jitendra Singh, Odisha in-charge, PCC, Odisha

Prithviraj Harichandan, State General Secretary, BJP, Odisha


Related Articles

Back to top button