Biju Patnaik Sports Award Conferred On Pramod Bhagat, Little Girl Shrimati Bhadra Bags Bravery Award

Bhubaneswar: On the occasion of National Sports Day, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today gave away Biju Patnaik Sports, Bravery & Social Service awards at a special function held in Jaydev Bhawan here.

While the coveted Biju Patnaik Sports Award was conferred to World Champion in Para Badminton Pramod Bhagat, Angul’s little girl Shrimati Bhadra was felicitated with the Biju Patnaik Bravery Award. The brave girl had saved her friend from a train mishap.

Bhagat was not present to receive the cash reward of Rs 2 lakh as he is in New Delhi to receive Arjuna Award. Meanwhile, Shrimati Bhadra was given Rs 1 lakh reward. KIIT University was also given award for Best Contribution to Promotion of Sports and Games.

Dutee Chand, Bhakta Ram Desti, Babulu Munda, Jhili Dalabehera and Sneha Soren were also awarded for Outstanding Achievements in Sports.

Radhakant Tripathy (Bhadrak), Badri Mishra (Puri), Mahendra Joshi (Nuapada), Kamakshya Majhi (Koraput), Ram Dash (Bolangir) and Abdul Khan (Keonjhar) received Rs 25,000 for social service.

Addressing the audience, the Chief Minister said that the talented sports persons of Odisha have been making a mark at various national and international events. Their success and contribution to the field of sports will encourage the talented youth mass.

“Bhubaneswar is now gradually earning a name and fame as the sports capital of our country. It has been internationally certified for organizing sports events. After successfully organizing Asian Athletic Championship, Men’s Hockey World League Final and Men’s Hockey World Cup here, we are going to organize Under 17 Women’s Hockey World Cup. Bhubaneswar has earned distinction as a glorious star in the sports firmament,” mentioned the Chief Minister.

He further mentioned, “Agreements have been inked with various established training institutes in order to impart coaching to the promising young sportspersons in the fields of athletics, football, tennis, badminton and other games and sports,”.  

Prominent among others, the function was also graced by Odisha Sports & Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera, Youth Welfare Board Working President Bijay Nayak, Sports Secretary Vishal Dev and Sports Director Vineel Krishna.      

The Biju Patnaik Sports Award is the highest award instituted by the Odisha Government since 2001-2002. 

Achyuta Samanta, MP, Kandhamal

Tusharkanti Behera, Minister, Sports

Badri Mishra, Social Worker