BJD’s Subash Singh Elected Cuttack Mayor

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Subash Singh has won the election to the post of Mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC).

Singh polled 113562 votes and defeated his nearest rival Congress candidate Giribala Behera by a huge margin of 45,206 votes.

The BJP’s Mayor candidate and Ollywood actor Sritam Das has polled 49,223 votes and ranked third.

The BJD also retained the CMC with, party’s corporator candidates winning in 38 out of the 59 Wards. The Congress has won in 7 Wards, the BJP has won in 8 Wards and the remaining 6 have gone to independents.