BWF Odisha Open 2022 Begins At JNIS Cuttack

Bhubaneswar: The 2022 Odisha Open, a Badminton World Federation (BWF) Super 100 tournament was inaugurated at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack on Tuesday.

It is the third tournament of the 2022 BWF World Tour and is the first edition of the Odisha Open. This tournament is organized by the Badminton Association of India with sanctions from the Badminton World Federation.

As many as 300 players from 18 countries are taking part in the tournament including five players from Odisha who will be managed by 200 officials.

Highlights of the day:

1) Varun Kapur (India) World no. 4 (U-19) lost to Chirag Sen (India) in straight sets.

2) Maisnam Meiraba (India), world no1 (U-19) won in straight sets against Mohan Saharsh of India.

3) Tasnim Mir (India), World No.1 (U-19) advances to next round through walk over, since her opponent was ruled out, after being tested Covid positive.

4) Out of total number of 42 matches scheduled for today, only as many as 13 matches could be played, as many players were ruled out, after being tested Covid positive.