Bye Election To Rajya Sabha From Odisha On April 21

Bhubaneswar: Bye Election for the Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha that fell vacant on April 21 due to the resignation of BJD member Subhash Chandra Singh will be on June 13.

The term of the member elected in the bye election will expire on April 2 in 2026.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) today released the schedule for holding the bye election.

As per the schedule issued by the ECI, notification for holding of the bye election will be issued on May 26, the last date for filing of nomination is June 2, scrutiny of nomination will be held on June 3, polling is on June 13 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and the counting of votes will begin at 5 p.m. on the same day.

Singh resigned as from the Rajya Sabha following his election as the Mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC).