Candidates In Fray For Odisha Phase-I Polls Cast Their Votes

Berhampur/Kalahandi/Rayagada: With Phase-I polling under full swing, all eyes are now on May 23 when the results of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be declared. Each and every vote matters and in realization of that, the candidates in fray too came out to vote and urge the people to exercise their franchise.

Ramesh Majhi and Balabhadra Majhi, BJD and BJP candidates for Nabarangpur Lok Sabha seats reached their assigned booths to exercise their franchise. BJD’s Berhampur Lok Sabha candidate Chandrasekhar Sahu, BJD MLA for Rayagada assembly seat Lal Bihari Himirika and BJP’s Gunupur Assembly candidate Sisir Gamang too cast their votes.

BJD candidates Puspendra Singh Deo for Kalahandi Lok Sabha seat, Bikram Panda for Berhampur Assembly candidate, Rabi Narayan Nanda from Jeypore Assembly seat, Jagannath Saraka for Bissam Cuttack Assembly also exercised their franchise and urged the people to come out in large numbers to vote.

BJP’s candidate for Kalahandi Lok Sabha seat Basant Panda and Congress MLA candidate from Jeypore Tara Prasad Bahinipati also cast their votes.

After exiting the booth, Congress candidate for Kalahandi Lok Sabha seat Bhakta Charan Das said, “This result holds a lot of significance for the people of Kalahandi. Farmers benefit, women security and children’s education, all of this will be decided according to today’s votes. Youths should not be influenced by bad ways, and should understand the importance of votes.”

Hopeful Congress candidate for Koraput Lok Sabha seat Saptagiri Ulka said, “Everybody should participate in large numbers for this festival of democracy.”

Surya Narayan Patro, BJD candidate from Digapahandi, after casting his vote said, “From the mood of the voters, I can definitely say Naveen Patnaik’s Government will come back for the 5th time.”