Breaking NewsOdisha

Dharmapada Awards Announced

Bhubaneswar: The Odia Language Literature and Culture Department today announced the names of five eminent persons of art who will be accorded the prestigious Dharmapada Awards from 2016 to 2020.

The announcement was made by Odia Language Literature and Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi today afternoon at the auditorium in the Sanskruti Bhawan premises.

While eminent painter Mahendra Prasad Mahapatra will get the award for this year, eminent pattachitra artist Binod Maharana has been selected for 2019, and eminent painter Jagadish Chandra Kanungo for 2018.

While renowned sculptor Shyam Sundar Patnaik would get the award for 2017, acclaimed senior painter Banabihari Parida will get it for 2016.

The recipients of the Dharmapada Award, the highest award in the field of Arts given by Odisha Lalit Kala Akademi will receive a cheque of Rs 5 lakh, a copper plaque, and angavastra.

In addition to this, for the aforementioned five years, 25 achievers in the field of Arts will be felicitated by the Odisha Lalit Kala Akademi. The felicitated artists will get a cheque of Rs 1 lakh, a copper plaque, and angavastra.

The awards will be given away at a State-level function to be held in the Capital City.


Related Articles

Back to top button