Elections 2019: It Is Naveen Patnaik Vs Sanat Gadtia In Bijepur

**Bhubaneswar:** In a midnight development, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded Sanat Kumar Gadtia as its candidate for Bijepur assembly seat in Bargarh. The decision to field Gadtia against Biju Janta Dal (BJD) supremo Naveen Patnaik came after the BJP’s Central Election Committee meeting last evening.

It is notable to mention here that Gadtia was a former BJD leader but he had quit the party ahead of Bijepur by-poll in 2018 and had joined BJP. He had quit BJD after Rita Sahu (sitting Bijepur MLA) joined the party ahead of the bypoll in the constituency. Earlier in 2008, Gadtia had quit BJP to join BJD. 11 years later, he jumped ship again.

For the first time, Naveen Patnaik will be contesting from two assembly segments- Hinjili and Bijepur. While BJP is set to field Pitambar Acharya from Hinjili, Gadtia has been pitted against Naveen In Bijepur.