FANI Aftermath: Central Team Visits Cyclone-Hit Cuttack District

Cuttack: Close on the heels of taking stock of the situation in Puri and Khurda districts yesterday (May 13) in the aftermath of the severe cyclonic storm FANI that wreaked havoc on Odisha recently, the Inter-Ministerial Central Team today visited this coastal district for on-the-spot rapid assessment of the situation and the damage caused to both life and property.

As per the tour schedule, the Team-A of the Central Team visited Niali and Kantapada. While Cuttack Collector Arvind Agrawal accompanied them, the Central Team members assessed the damage at the ground zero level as well as interacted with the affected people.

Yesterday, the Team-A visited Puri district’s Satpada, Arakhakuda Gram Panchayat (GP), Mirzapur village of Gopinathpur GP under Krushnaprasad Block, Bhubanpur and Chapamanika GPs under Brahmagiri Block, interacted with district administration at Puri district headquarters town before resuming field visit to Baliapanda slum of Puri Municipality, Gadishagada of Jamiliguda GP under Kanas Block, Kothapada and Jenapur under Delang Block.     

After arrival on Sunday (May 12) evening, the Central Team had night halt at State capital city Bhubaneswar. On Monday (May 13) morning, Odisha Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) made a short briefing and soon after that the Central Team has split into two teams: Team-A and Team-B.  

While Team-A left on its field visit to Puri district yesterday, Team-B visited part of Khurda district.

While Team-A leader is MHA Additional Secretary Vivek Bhardwaj, it also comprises Power Ministry Chief Engineer Vivek Goel, Chief Coconut Development Officer Saradindu Das, Housing & Urban Affairs Chief Engineer Rakesh Kumar Shami and Finance Ministry Joint Director (PF-S) Suraj Kumar Pradhan.

Team-B comprises Drinking Water & Sanitation Director Ajay Kumar, Water Resources Ministry Superintending Engineer (Coordination) Amrish Pal Singh, Agriculture, Cooperation & FW Director Virendra Singh, Road Transport & Highways Ministry Regional Officer Rakesh Kumar, Rural Development Deputy Secretary S.S. Modi and Fisheries Assistant Commissioner S.K. Rath.  

Before departing from Bhubaneswar for New Delhi in the evening tomorrow (May 15), both Team-A and Team-B would make their field visit in Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation area. After the field visit, they are slated to hold a meeting with Odisha Chief Secretary and other senior officers, as per the Central Team’s three-day Odisha visit tour schedule.


Related Articles

Back to top button