Farmers Protest Against Token System Reaches Sambalpur MLAs’ Doors

Sambalpur: Protesting against the token system in paddy procurement, the farmers of Sambalpur district are protesting today with paddy laden vehicles in front of the residence of four Members of Legislative Assembly (MLA) of the Sambalpur district.

The MLA’s are Sambalpur’s Jayanarayan Mishra, Rengali’s Nauri Nayak, Rairakhol’s Rohit Pujari and Kuchinda’s Kishore Chandra Nayak.

Following the similar mode of protest, when the farmers had blocked the entrance of Sambalpur Collector’s office yesterday, the farmers decided to show their dissent to the mentioned MLA’s for not being able to represent the farmers’ issue in the Assembly. Meanwhile the protest in front of the Sambalpur Collector’s office will continue for a second day today.

Because of the protests, the district Police have already deployed additional forces at the respective MLA’s residences.

The agriculturist associations have given the government an ultimatum of removal of the token system of paddy procurement by today evening; else they threatened to block the national and the state highway which passes through the district tomorrow, i.e. on Wednesday.

The farmers have been demanding the government to withdraw the centralized token system, which will be generated from the State Capital for the farmers, to sell paddy in the market yards.

On October 15, the farmers had given 72-hour ultimatum to the State government to withdraw the centralized token system. They had also threatened that they would intensify their agitation if the system is not withdrawn within the stipulated period. Under the system, the token generated in Bhubaneswar will be sent to the registered mobile number of the farmer. The date of sale of paddy and quantity to be sold will be mentioned in the token.


Related Articles

Back to top button