General Poll Results-2019: Stage Set For Counting In Odisha, To Begin From 8 AM At 63 Centres

Bhubaneswar: As the much-awaited outcome of General Elections-2019 is slated tomorrow (May 23) across the nation, Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) today informed that the most significant counting of votes will begin from 8 am on Thursday (May 23) at 63 centres in the State.

Convening a press conference, Odisha CEO Surendra Kumar informed that the counting of votes for the results of general elections 2019 will begin from 8 am tomorrow (May 23) at 63 counting centres in the State.

He also informed that each counting centre will have at least 7 tables each for the Assembly and Lok Sabha seats.

He further informed that a Counting Supervisor (Gazetted Officer), a Counting Assistant and a Micro Observer (Central Government employee or Central PSU employee) will be appointed for each counting centre in a bid to ensure free and fair counting.

“Around 6,700 persons have been deployed for the counting across the State. There are 15 tables in one hall. We have assessed that  minimum 19 rounds will be at Sambalpur Assembly Constituency while maximum 49 rounds will be at Patnagarh Assembly Constituency,” informed the CEO.

The Odisha CEO also informed, “When counting of votes begins, the postal ballots are counted first. This time there are 43,357 service voters sent by means of ETPV. After half an hour of this count, the CU (control unit) count begins. Now the restriction has been lifted.”