Govt Offices Owe Rs 242 Cr Arrears To Discoms: Minister

Bhubaneswar: As many as 43,116 Government offices under various departments of the State government owe a total of Rs 242.25 crore as arrears towards electricity dues to power distribution companies (discoms).

This was revealed by Energy Minister Dibya Shankar Mishra in a written reply to a question by BJD MLA from Jaleswar Aswini Kumar Patra in the Odisha Assembly today.

The Minister said that the list includes different schools, Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs), and Urban Local Bodies (ULBs).

He told the member that for payment of electricity bill of Government offices concerned departments provide funds through budget.

Mishra informed that all arrears towards electricity dues on different Government offices up to 31st March 2020 have been settled as per notification of the Finance Department issued on 21st December 2020.

He further told that the Finance Department through a letter issued on 10th of this month has asked all departments to pay their electricity bills for the current year by 31st of this month.