Heavy Rainfall Toll Rises To Four, 20.46 Lakh Affected In 20 Dists Across Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Over 20.46 lakh people in 20 districts have been affected and four human casualties have been reported due to heavy rainfall during the past 48 hours in most parts of the State under the effect of the Depression over the Bay of Bengal.

According to the ‘Situation Report’ issued by the Office of the Special Relief Commissioner (SRC), today evening as many as 20,46,122 persons have been affected in 3696 villages and 27 Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) spread across 111 blocks in 20 out of 30 districts of the State.

The affected districts are Angul, Bargarh, Balasore, Boudh, Cuttack, Deogarh, Dhenkanal, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Ganjam, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khordha, Koraput, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Puri and Subarnapur.

The ‘Situation Report’ quoting preliminary reports received from districts has stated that a total of four persons have died in the State due to the rains so far while another has gone missing due to drowning.

A total of three persons have died due to wall collapse-two are from Kendrapara district and one is from Ganjam district.

One person in Khordha district has died due to drowning. Yet another person has gone missing due to drowning in the Nischintakoili block of Cuttack district.

The highest number of people 11, 36,971 have been affected in Jagatsinghpur district, followed by 7,79,241 in Kendrapara, 48,457 in Dhenkanal, 21,596 in Cuttack district, 21,525 in Jajpur district, 21,021 in Puri district and 10,200 in Kandhamal district.

Similarly, while a total number of 13,534 people were evacuated to safer places, the highest number 5,683 were evacuated to safer places in Cuttack district followed by 3,564 in Jagatsinghpur district, 3,461 in Puri district, 532 in Kendrapara district, 220 in Dhenkanal, 50 in Nayagarh district and 24 in Kandhamal district.

Besides, a total of 2,870 houses have been damaged as per the report with the maximum 789 in Dhenkanal district, 569 in Jagatsinghpur district, 523 in Cuttack district, 275 in Boudh district, 238 in Khordha, 120 in Keonjhar district, 103 in Subarnapur district, 56 in Angul district, 40 in Nuapada, 30 in Bargarh district, 26 in Nayagarh district, 25 in Koraput district, 22 in Kandhamal, 18 in Kandhamal, 17 in Kendrapara, 15 in Balasore, 3 in Deogarh and 1 in Jajpur.