Illegal cracker manufacturing units busted in Cuttack
Man shot dead by bike-borne miscreants in Cuttack

Hockey India Congratulates Odisha CM On Receiving FIH President’s Award

05 November 2018


New Delhi: Hockey India on Monday congratulated Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on being conferred with the prestigious FIH President’s Award by FIH, the world governing body for hockey at a Dinner and Awards Night held in New Delhi on November 1.

The special recognition by FIH was made to honour Naveen's endeavour in promoting hockey and his Government's incredible enthusiasm in making the Odisha Men's Hockey World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 to begin on 28 November 2018, a grand success. The Chief Minister, an ardent sports lover, was bestowed with the award during the recently concluded 46th FIH Congress in New Delhi.

Naveen has also been in the forefront of developing the national sport as the main sponsor for the Indian National Men’s and Women's teams.

"On behalf of Hockey India, I would like to congratulate Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha, on being bestowed with the prestigious FIH President’s Award. It is a befitting honour for a man who has been in the forefront of developing sports and hockey in specific in the region of Odisha. By coming forward to partner the Odisha Men's Hockey World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 as main sponsor, the Odisha Government led by Shri Naveen Patnaik has ensured the marquee event will be played in front of a home crowd, and the passion Odisha prides over hockey will be seen world over," stated Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad, President, Hockey India.

HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body having an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).