Know The Significance of Nine Colours In Navratri

Bhubanewar: Amid the speculation of a 3rd wave of Covid-19, Navratri this year started from 7th October with guidelines and regulations. Though a North Indian tradition to observe fast during the 9 days of Durga Puja, the custom has gained prominence in different parts of India – Odisha is no exception!
During these nine days of Navratri, different forms of Maa Durga are worshipped.

During these auspicious nine days of Navratri, it is believed that different colours are associated with each day. Devotees of Goddess Durga get dressed in the designated colours for the festivities.

Navratri festivities are filled with vibrant colors that are visible in the decorations, dresses, and designs all around you. Have you ever wondered about the significance of these Navratri colors? Yes, there is a pattern and meaning behind each color that dazzles the eye.

Every year, while the colors remain the same, the order varies depending on the day Navratri falls. Here is a list of the Navratri colors 2021 in a snapshot:

Nine colors of Navratri 2021

Each of the nine days of Navratri are dedicated to the nine avatars of Goddess Durga – the Goddess of Shakti or power. Each of the nine colors of Navratri symbolizes the quality of the Devi.

First Day (7th October) – Pratipada – Yellow

The first day of Navratri is the first incarnation of Devi – Shailaputri – daughter of the mountains. She is the absolute form of Mother Nature and symbolizes strength. Yellow is the color of brightness, happiness, and cheer. It is a wonderful way to start off the nine-day celebration.

Second Day (8th October) – Dwitiya – Green

The second day of Navratri is the second incarnation of Goddess Durga – Brahmacharani – the female seeking spiritual knowledge. In this form, Goddess Durga or Parvati goes to the verdant mountains to do penance. This is where her prospective consort, Lord Shiva is. She joins him here in asceticism. Hence, green color symbolizes growth, nature, and energy.

Third-Day (9th October) – Tritiya – Grey

Grey: The third incarnation of Devi is Chandraghanta. She wears a gray-colored half-moon on her forehead. The gray also symbolizes her mood, ever ready to fight to destroy the foes of her devotees.

Fourth Day (9th October) – Chaturthi – Orange

The fourth incarnation of Goddess Durga is Kushmanda. The luminosity and brightness of this Devi, with her bewitching smile, light up the sun. She is powerful enough to live in the Sun. Hence, the color orange symbolizes her happiness and energy

Fifth Day (10th October) – Panchami – White

The fifth incarnation of Devi is Skandamata – mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, the war-god. The Devi holding her baby in her lap is a symbol of the purity of a mother’s love. It also symbolizes peace, purity, and prayer in devotees’ hearts when they worship her. Hence, the color white.

Sixth Day (11th October) – Shashti – Red

The sixth incarnation of Devi is Katyayani. She is a fierce form of Goddess Durga believed to be formed out of the anger of the Gods. Therefore, the color red is associated with her. Red also symbolizes action and vigor.

Seventh Day (12th October) – Saptami – Royal Blue

The seventh incarnation of Devi is Kaalratri. She is a destructive form of the Goddess and is also called Kali. Her powerful energy is embodied in the color blue.

Eighth Day (13th October) – Ashtami – Pink

The eighth incarnation of Devi is Mahagauri. She is the fulfiller of all desires. The color pink symbolizes hope and freshness of perspective.

Ninth Day (14th October) – Navami – Purple

The ninth incarnation of Devi is Siddhidatri. She is the giver of knowledge and helps you achieve your aspirations. Hence, the color purple represents ambition and power.

Aren’t the various names and forms of the Devi intriguing and fascinating?
So, when you attend your celebrations this year keep these color codes in mind and sport a different outfit every day with the accompanying accessories. With knowledge of the significance of the Navratri colors, you can don the appropriate expression with the look.