Monsoon Session of Odisha Assembly Begins Today

Bhubaneswar: The Monsoon Session of 16th Legislative Assembly begins today amid strict adherence to COVID-19 guidelines. The Session will conclude on October 7.

The shortened session will convene for around four hours every day sans Question Hour.

Over 900 people including MLAs, senior officials, Assembly staff and media persons had to undergo COVID-19 test ahead of the session.

Two MLAs tested positive for COVID-19 on Sunday. The two senior leaders are Narasinghpur Baramba MLA Debi Prasad Mishra and Government Chief Whip and Binjharpur MLA Pramila Mallik.

The two legislators were among the 757 people whose test results came out on Sunday. Among these, 136 persons have tested positive for novel Coronavirus.

Again, on Monday 12 MLAs tested positive for COVID-19; out of which 11 are from BJD and one from BJP. The BJD MLAs are Deputy Speaker Rajanikant Singh, SME Minister Samir Ranjan Dash, Textiles, Handlooms & Handicrafts Minister Padmini Dian, Tourism & Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi. Korei MLA Ashok Kumar Bal, Basudevpur MLA Bishnubrat Routray, Anandpur MLA Bhagirathi Sethi, Chhendipada MLA Susanta Behera, Satyabadi MLA Umakanta Samantaray, Chilika MLA Prashant Jagdev and Nilagiri MLA Sukanta Nayak also tested positive.

Apart from them, BJP MLA of Rengali Nauri Nayak was found to have contracted the virus.

Those who have tested negative will only be allowed to enter the Assembly premises.