Stakes High For Odisha With Young Team In Vijay Hazare Trophy

Cuttack: The Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) today announced a 22-member squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare tournament. The team comprises at least eight new faces from whom the selectors have high hopes.

OCA’s Senior Men’s Selection Committee Chairman Pravanjan Mullick said this is a fresh team with eight young players which will perform well at the national level. “OCA has a Vision 2024 under which young players are chosen and groomed. We are following the same vision and preparing teams on that line.”

Odisha’s Vijay Hazare Trophy squad is listed below:

Santanu Mishra (Captain), Sandip Patnaik, Debashis Samantray, Subhransu Senapati, Abhishek Yadav, Gourav Choudhury, Rama Chandra Behera, Amrit Khatua, Rakesh Pattnaik, Kartik Biswal, Rajesh Dhuper (WK), Pravin Loha (WK), Ankit Yadav, Suryakant Pradhan, Debabrata Pradhan, Rajesh Mohanty, Tarini Sa, B Shiva, Harshit Rathod, Sourav Kanojia, Bikash Rout and Prayash Singh Thakur; Coach: Rashmi Ranjan Parida.

“The team on this occasion for the Vijay Hazare Trophy is a good combination of new and experienced players. We expect that their performance will exceed expectations. We also have very good chances to clinch the tournament,” said Mullick. The new faces in the team are Gaurav Choudhury, Rama Chandra Behera, Amrit Khatua, Rakesh Pattnaik, Kartik Biswal, Tarini Shah, B Shiva, Sourav Kanojia, Harshit Rathod and Bikash Rout.

The players will stay in quarantine for six days from February 13 at Bangalore. As per the schedule announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Vijay Hazare Trophy’s first match will begin on February 20. The group stages of the competition will be conducted until March 1 and after a short break for a week, the knockout stages will be played from March 8. The semi-finals and the final will be played on March 11 and 14 respectively.

“The Ranji Trophy will not be held this year in the on-going season. But OCA will organise Kalahandi Cup. Selections will be held as per the normal course in stages. Intra-club matches and camps will also be organised in 2021. We will remain prepared with our players. But it is upon the BCCI to take a call on holding National level tournaments,” added Mullick.

Pravanjan Mullick, Chairman, Selection Committee, OCA