Odisha: 25th All India Forest Sports Meet To Be Held In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In another step towards promotion of sports and youth welfare, the State Government has decided to organize 25th All India Forest Sports Meet in Odisha. This was decided in a high-level meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy at the Lok Seva  Bhavan today. Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Sandeep Tripathi presented details of this national event for discussion.

Giving nod to the proposal, Chief Secretary Tripathy directed to organize the sports in a manner that would add to the goodwill of Bhubaneswar as a growing sports capital. Further, he directed the Sports and Forest & Environment Departments to tie up with OTDC for integrating this prestigious national event with Odisha Tourism. OTDC was directed to plan different tour packages and put it on the website for the sportspersons, their fans and family members.

It was decided that the Sports Meet would be inaugurated at Kalinga Stadium on 3rd March. Different sports events would be organized at various stadiums for five days and the closing ceremony would be held on 7th March at the Kalinga Stadium.

Detailing about the Meet, PCCF Tripathi said that 45 teams from different states and UTs would participate in the Meet. Around 2,600 sports persons would display their skill and talent. Around 500 local youths and staff would assist in smooth conduct of the entire Meet. In total, 23 games with 230 events would be organized. The referees would be nominated from Kalinga Stadium, Director of Sports and various recognized State Level associations.

Tripathi added, there would be various field and track games including basketball, volleyball, squash, table tennis, hockey, cricket, badminton, lawn tennis, archery, powerlifting, golf, carom, chess, bridge, billiards, rifle shooting, athletics, tug of war, swimming, kabaddi and other indoor games.

Various games would be played at different stadiums like Kalinga, KIIT, Sai International School, Utkal University and Golf Course at Bhubaneswar.

Development Commissioner Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Additional Chief Secretary Forest & Environment Dr Mona Sharma, Principal Secretary Finance Ashok Meena, Principal Secretary Home Sanjiv Chopra, Secretary Sports and Youth Welfare Vishal Dev along with senior officers from Forest and Environment Department participated in the deliberations.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button