Odisha: 67th Odisha Police Duty Meet Inaugurated At Cuttack

Cuttack: The 67th edition of Odisha Police Duty Meet, 2019 was inaugurated at RK Padhi Memorial Hall here on Wednesday. DGP BK Sharma presided over the inaugural function as Chief Guest in the presence of dignitaries, officials, participants and media representatives.

Addressing the gathering, Sharma said that Police Duty Meet is an occasion in which the participants get an opportunity to display their professional talent and skill. They get opportunity to improve their skill by way of interaction with other participants.

“Crime investigation is an important work of Police. The traditional method of investigation has become obsolete and outdated in the present-day context. The scientific and technical methods of investigation is the need of the hour,” said Sharma.

He added that the conviction rate can be improved by adopting scientific ways in every aspects of investigation. “Achieving success in the State Police Duty Meet is not enough. They have to make mark in the All India Police Duty meet and bring laurels for Odisha Police.”

As many as ¬¬212 competitors including 45 Inspectors, 52 Sub-Inspectors, 49 ASIs and 66 Constables from 37 Police Districts and Establishments are participating in this mega annual event. Besides, ¬¬22 Police dogs will display their skill during the event.

The Duty Meet which is scheduled to be held for three days will witness competitions in various policing subjects like Observation and Police portrait, Scientific Aid to investigation, Medico-Legal Test, Finger Print Identification, Lifting – Packing and Forwarding of Exhibit, Photography, DNA Finger Printing, Technical Surveillance, Cyber Crimes, Laws & Rules and Computer Awareness Test etc.

The successful Policemen will be selected to participate in the All India Police Duty meet. Minister of State, Home Department, Dibyasankar Mishra will be the Chief Guest in the valedictory function on September 27.

Santosh Upadhayay, Additional DGP, Crime Branch conducted the inaugural ceremony and delivered the welcome address. SS Mishra, SP CID, Crime Branch offered the vote of thanks.

BK Sharma, DGP, Odisha


Related Articles

Back to top button