Odisha Assembly Monsoon Session Begins, House Adjourned After Condolence Motion, Tributes Paid To Vajpayee & Others

**Bhubaneswar: ** The 13th Session (Monsoon Session) of the 15th Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) began today with obituary references on the passing away of Ex-Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and seven other personalities. Soon after the condolence motion was moved and participated by the members, Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat adjourned the House for the day while it will re-assemble tomorrow at 10.30 am.

As soon as the House assembled for the opening day of its Monsoon Session, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved condolence motion over the sad demise of Ex-Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Ex-Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, Ex-Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi, Ex-Odisha Minister Jadunath Dash Mohapatra, Ex-Odisha MLA Suryamani Jena, Ex-Odisha MLA Braja Kishore Mohanty, Ex-Odisha MLA Muralidhar Kuanar and Ex-Odisha Police Constable Sanjaya Majhi.

The Chief Minister in his obituary references said, “With profound grief, I rise to inform this August House about the sad demise of Bharat Ratna Late Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji, Ex-Prime Minister of our country. It is a great national loss, as much as a personal loss for me. I will always cherish my association with Late Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji especially as it was during my initial years in public life.”

He added, “He embodied a unique combination of grace, idealism and tolerance in politics. A true statesman, who was admired across the political spectrum. His depth of vision and understanding of issues was unparalleled. He was a man of firm principles and an idealistic poet. An astute leader, who showed to the world the art of managing a coalition government with its myriad diversities. A true democrat, who chose to lose on the floor of the House upholding the values of our Constitution. It is truly the end of an era.”

The CM also said, “Vajpayee ji had a large heart with a special corner for Odisha-love that was equally reciprocated by the people of Odisha. I also inform this August House about the sad demise of Late Somnath Chatterjee, Ex-Speaker of Lok Sabha, Late Muthuvel Karunanidhi, Ex-Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Late Jadunath Dash Mohapatra, Ex-Minister, Late Suryamani Jena, Ex-Member, Late Braja Kishore Mohanty, Ex-Member, Late Muralidhara Kuanr, Ex-Member and Late Sanjay Majhi, Ex-Constable, Odisha Police.”

“Sir, the sad demise of the former Prime Minister of India, Ex-Speaker, Lok Sabha, Ex-Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Ex-Members of this August House and the martyr is an irreparable loss to the Nation, the State amd the members of their families. I, therefore, request you Sir, to kindly convey our sincere condolences to the members of the bereaved families,” the Odisha Chief Minister urged the Speaker.

The condolence motion was supported and participated by Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra and BJP Legislature Party Leader K.V. Singhdeo.

A two-minute silence was also observed in the august House.

Later, Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat adjourned the House till tomorrow as a mark of respect to the departed souls.

As decided by the Business Advisory Committee yesterday, the condolence motion was moved and all other businesses stood annulled for the day as the House got adjourned rendering honour to the departed souls.

It was earlier scheduled that the State Government would move the Supplementary Budget for 2018-19 today, but it has been deferred till tomorrow as decided by the Business Advisory Committee.

Notably, the Monsoon Session of the 15th Odisha Legislative Assembly will have a total of 11 working days and conclude on September 20.

**Also Read:** [Chhattisgarh Murder Convict Threatens To Eliminate Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/chhattisgarh-murder-convict-threatens-to-eliminate-odisha-cm-naveen-patnaik)

**Also Read:** [Former Odisha MLA Booked For Misbehaving Mother-Daughter Duo](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/former-odisha-mla-booked-for-misbehaving-mother-daughter-duo)