Odisha CM Inaugurates National Tribal Craft Mela

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated the 8th National Tribal Craft Mela at the State Tribal Museum Complex here this evening.

More than 240 tribal artisans from 18 States such as Sikkim, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Manipur, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh, Telengana, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, and Himachal Pradesh including Odisha are participating in the 8th National Tribal Craft Mela.

Handicraft items, handloom products, iron, bamboo products, puppets, lacquer craft, tribal jewellery, dhokra, sabai and siali crafts, tribal textiles and embroidery work, tribal paintings and many more tribal products will be put on display by these tribal artisans during the seven-day long event.

Both Government and Non- Government Organizations like TRIFED, TDCC, OTDC, World Act, Anwesha, SCSTRTI and ATLC are also participating in the Mela.

The main objective of holding the National Tribal Crafts Mela is to preserve, promote and popularize traditional tribal art and crafts and help the artisans to look for better opportunities to develop their skills through cross-cultural interactions for the commercial viability of their products.

As a part of the ‘5Ts’ initiative of Government of Odisha, 45 Supplementary Readers prepared in 21 Tribal languages were released simultaneously by the Chief Minister on the occasion.

These supplementary Readers will be used as Learning Materials for Multi-Lingual Education (MLE) of Scheduled Tribe Students.

ST & SC Development Minister Jagannath Saraka, departmental Principal Secretary Ranjana Chopra, Director (ST), ST & SC Development department Sachin R Yadav, Advisor-cum-Director SCSTRTI AB Ota and several other dignitaries were present at the inaugural function.

This weeklong Tribal Crafts Mela is expected to have a footfall of more than 25,000 tribal art lovers.

Organisers said the Mela will be opened for public from 2.00 PM to 8.00 PM every day from November 23 to 29.

Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister, Odisha

Jagannath Sarka, Minister, SC & ST, Odisha

A B Ota, Commissioner cum Director, SCSTRTI


Related Articles

Back to top button