Odisha CM Launches Jalasathi To Ensure Clean Water Supply

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today launched the Jalasathi programme at the Rail Auditorium, Mancheswar here.

Patnaik inaugurated the programme by paying Rs 593 towards water charges due on Naveen Niwas.

He paid the amount using his Rupay Card.

The Chief Minister distributed water quality testing kits and POS (Point of Sale) machines to Jalasathis during the launching programme.

” Clean water is the most important thing for a healthy life. The inclusion of women from Mission Shakti in piped water supply is a cherished step. With the signing of the MoU today our woman volunteers will serve the people as Jalasathis,” the Chief Minister said speaking on the occasion. This will result in their economic empowerment, he added.

An MoU was signed between WATCO (Water Corporation of Odisha) and women federations in Bhubaneswar.

Jalasathi programme was launched in pilot zones (8 wards) in Bhubaneswar under the 5T initiative of the Housing & Urban Development department.

Subsequently, the programme will be extended to other wards of Bhubaneswar and other urban areas of the State. Around 70 lakh people will benefit under this programme.

The programme envisages ensuring supply of clean drinking water to consumers through piped water systems.

The key objective of the program is to transfer the ward level water distribution and consumer management to women SHG volunteers who will work as Jalasathis.

Jalasathis will act as a link between consumers and the Public Health Engineering Organisation (PHEO)/WATCO.

This will result in the empowerment of women SHGs.

Jalasathis will be responsible for field testing of water quality, facilitating new water connections, regularising connections, reassessment of demand, meter reading, bill generation, and bill deliver, collection of water charges and facilitating complaints redressal.

They will take care of the entire water supply system to their wards.

Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister, Odisha

G. Mathi Vathanan, Principal Secretary, H & UD Department, Odisha

Sujata Karthikeyan, Secretary, Mission Shakti, Odisha





Related Articles

Back to top button