Odisha CM Lays Foundation Stones For Oxygen Plants In 8 Districts

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today laid foundation stones for various health infrastructures-Liquid Medical Oxygen (LMO) plants and Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) oxygen generation plants in eight districts and also inaugurated other infrastructures through video conferencing.

These eight districts are Jharsuguda, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Sonepur, Nayagarh, Sundargarh and Mayurbhanj, said an official press release.

It may be mentioned here that while it is targeted to set up 20 PSA oxygen generation plants in the State, foundation stones for seven were laid on June 9 and eight today.

These 20 PSA oxygen generation plants can generate 24,000 litres of medical oxygen per minute.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said that now there has been a remarkable improvement in the Covid situation in the State.

Still, we need to be more careful, he added. While informing that experts in some States have cautioned on the third wave, he advised to remain fully prepared for the same in our State.

In addition to this, the Chief Minister has appealed to the people to wear a double mask and definitely get vaccinated.

While stating that the fight against Corona is continuing for over a year, he pointed out that in the second wave which started in April, a fall in oxygen saturation level among patients has turned up to be a big problem.

Therefore, steps are being taken to strengthen oxygen supplies in all hospitals, he added.

“Every life is precious”-is our mantra for management of every disaster, the Chief Minister reiterated.

While stating that the same motto applies in the case of Covid, the Chief Minister said Covid patients are being provided with free treatment and medicines.

Patnaik thanked all doctors, health workers, ASHAs, and Anganwadi workers for their work and sacrifice in the fight against Covid.

The Chief Minister firmly believed that Odisha and the human race as a whole will surely win in the fight against Covid.

Participating in the programme from different districts, Ministers Naba Kisore Das, Niranjan Pujari, Pratap Jena, Samir Ranjan Dash, Raghunandan Das, Rajya Sabha members and MLA were of high praise for the foresight of the Chief Minister in the fight against Covid.

Development Commissioner PK Jena, Principal Secretary Industries Hemant Sharma, Mission Director NHM Shalini Pandit and Collectors of different districts participated in the programme.

Secretary to CM (5T) VK Pandian coordinated the programme.

Chief Secretary Suresh Mahapatra, Additional Chief Secretary (Health) PK Mohapatra gave the welcome address and Managing Director of Odisha State Medical Corporation Yamini Sarangi offered the vote of thanks.