Odisha: Heavyweight Opposition Leaders File Nomination

**Bhubaneswar:** With less than 72 hours to go for the first phase polls in Odisha, the election atmosphere charged up a little more today as heavyweight Opposition leaders filed their nomination papers across Odisha.

In Kendrapara, two-time Lok Sabha MP and National vice-president of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Baijayant Panda submitted his nomination papers to the Collector-cum-Returning Officer. He filed his nomination for the Lok Sabha seat after offering prayers at the world-renowned Shri Baladevjew Temple.

He was accompanied by senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra who had rejoined BJP two weeks back after having quit the saffron party on November last year. Bijoy has been fielded as the candidate for Patkura assembly seat and he filed his nomination papers with the sub collector-cum-Returning officer. Both the veterans were accompanied by a sea of supporters who chanted slogans and gave out victory calls.

In Jagatsingpur, another firebrand politician Dr Damodar Rout filed his nomination with the sub collector-cum-Returning officer. Rout has been fielded as BJP candidate from Balikuda-Ersama Assembly seat. The seven-time MLA was accompanied by his supporters and a huge procession was taken out for the nomination filing.

In Bhadrak, President of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) Niranjan Patnaik submitted his nomination paper for Bhandaripokhari Assembly seat. It is notable to mention here that Niranjan Patnaik is contesting from two Assembly constituencies- Bhandaripokhari and Ghasipura.

All the candidates pledged to work for the people of the country and are all set to put up a tough fight.